The Roman Curia

Roman Curia has developed from Papal household. Pope formed commissions of its members from time to time. Their task was to give Pope some advice on certain issues.

Since the time of Pope Sixt V (1585-1590), curia has become a permanent administrative centre of the Catholic Church. Decisions taken up by the Curia have the same obligatory power as Pope's decisions do.

Pope Pius X (1903-1914) and Pope Paul VI (1963-1978) have reformed and modernized the Roman curia.

Today, the Roman curia includes nine congregations, three tribunals and twelve pontifical councils, as well as some other offices.

Secretariat of State

  •  Section for General Affairs

  •  Section for Relations with States


- Doctrine of the Faith

  •  Pontifical Biblical Commission

  •  International Theological Commission

  •  Interdicasterial Commission for the Catechism of the Catholic Church

- Oriental Churches
- Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments
- Causes of Saints
- Evangelization of Peoples

  •  Pontifical Mission Societies (International Secretariats)

- Clergy
- Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life
- Catholic Education
- Bishops

  •  Commission for Latin America


- The Apostolic Penitentiary
- The Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura
- The Tribunal of the Roman Rota


Pontifical Councils
- Laity
- Promoting Christian Unity

  •  Commission for religious relations with the Jews

- Family
- Justice and Peace
- "Cor Unum"
- Pastoral Care of Migrants and Itinerant People
- Health Pastoral Care
- Legislative Texts
- Inter-religious Dialogue
- Culture
- Social Communications


Synod of Bishops

- The Apostolic Camera
- The Administration of the Patrimony of the Apostolic See
- The Prefecture for the Economic Affairs of the Holy See

Pontifical Commissions
- Cultural Heritage of the Church
- Pontifical Commission "Ecclesia Dei"
- Pontifical Commission for Sacred Archeology
- Pontifical Biblical Commission
- International Theological Commission
- Interdicasterial Commission for the Catechism of the Catholic Church
- Pontifical Commission for Latin America

Swiss Guard

Institutions Connected with the Holy See
- Pontifical Musical Chorus of the Sistine Chapel
- Office of Papal Charities
- Fabric of St. Peter

  •  Excavations Office

- "Latinitas" Foundation
- Vatican Publishing House
- Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem
- Peregrinatio ad Petri Sedem
- Pontifical Institute of Sacred Music
- Vatican Press

Labour Office of the Apostolic See

Pontifical Academies
- Cultorum Martyrum
- Ecclesiastical
- Life
- Sciences
- Social Sciences